Oscar Night 2012: Predictions and Winners

Posted: February 26, 2012 in Award Season, Personal

It is that time of year again. It is officially the night of glitz and glamour and, most importantly, a celebration of the past year in film. There are a number of great pictures that took place since the last awards, though many of them only appeared over the past couple months. While there is no party for me this year, I am still feeling the Oscar buzz and have my predictions below. I will update this post throughout the night to represent the winners as they are announced and follow up on the results in the next day or two. Enjoy the night (and thank you that Billy Crystal is taking the lead this year).

Actor in a Leading Role

  • My Prediction: George Clooney in The Descendants
  • My Spoiler: Jean Dujardin in The Artist
  • Winner: Jean Dujardin

Actor in a Supporting Role

  • My Prediction: Christopher Plummer in Beginners
  • My Spoiler: Kenneth Branagh in My Week with Marilyn
  • Winner: Christopher Plummer

Actress in a Leading Role

  • My Prediction: Viola Davis in The Help
  • My Spoiler: Meryl Streep in The Iron Lady
  • Winner: Meryl Streep

Actress in a Supporting Role

  • My Prediction: Octavia Spencer in The Help
  • My Spoiler: Berenice Bejo in The Artist
  • Winner: Octavia Spencer

Animated Feature Film

  • My Prediction: Rango
  • My Spoiler: Kung Fu Panda 2
  • Winner: Rango

Art Direction

  • My Prediction: The Artist
  • My Spoiler: Hugo
  • Winner: Hugo

Cinematography

  • My Prediction: The Artist
  • My Spoiler: War Horse
  • Winner: Hugo

Costume Design

  • My Prediction: Jane Eyre
  • My Spoiler: The Artist
  • Winner: The Artist

Directing

  • My Prediction: Michel Hazanavicius for The Artist
  • My Spoiler: Woody Allen for Midnight in Paris
  • Winner: Michel Hazanavicius

Documentary (Feature)

  • My Prediction: Undefeated
  • My Spoiler: Hell and Back Again
  • Winner: Undefeated

Documentary (Short Subject)

  • My Prediction: Saving Face
  • My Spoiler: Incident in New Baghdad
  • Winner: Saving Face

Film Editing

  • My Prediction: The Artist
  • My Spoiler: Hugo
  • Winner: The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo

Foreign Language

  • My Prediction: A Separation (Iran)
  • My Spoiler: In Darkness (Poland)
  • Winner: A Separation

Makeup

  • My Prediction: The Iron Lady
  • My Spoiler: Albert Nobbs
  • Winner: The Iron Lady

Music (Original Score)

  • My Prediction: The Artist
  • My Spoiler: War Horse
  • Winner: The Artist

Music (Original Song)

  • My Prediction: Man or Muppet by Bret McKenzie
  • My Spoiler: Real in Rio by Sergio Mendes and Carlinhos Brown
  • Winner: Man or Muppet

Best Picture

  • My Prediction: The Artist
  • My Spoilers: The Descendants or The Help
  • Winner: The Artist

Short Film (Animated)

  • My Prediction: The Fantastic Flying Books of Mr. Morris Lessmore
  • My Spoiler: La Luna
  • Winner: The Fantastic Flying Books of Mr. Morris Lessmore

Short Film (Live Action)

  • My Prediction: Raju
  • My Spoiler: The Shore
  • Winner: The Shore

Sound Editing

  • My Prediction: Hugo
  • My Spoiler: War Horse
  • Winner: Hugo

Sound Mixing

  • My Prediction: The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo
  • My Spoiler: Hugo
  • Winner: Hugo

Visual Effects

  • My Prediction: Rise of the Planet of the Apes
  • My Spoiler: Transformers: Dark of the Moon
  • Winner: Hugo

Writing (Adapted Screenplay)

  • The Descendants by Alexandre Payne, Nat Faxon and Jim Rash
  • Moneyball by Steven Zaillian and Aaron Sorkin
  • Winner: The Descendants

Writing (Original Screenplay)

  • My Prediction: Midnight in Paris by Woody Allen
  • My Spoiler: The Artist by Michel Hazanavicius
  • Winner: Midnight in Paris
Percentage Correct: 15/24 – 62.5%
Biggest Winners: The Artist (5) & Hugo (5)
Other Winners:
  • A Separation
  • Beginners
  • Midnight in Paris
  • Rango
  • Saving Face
  • The Descendants
  • The Fantastic Flying Books of Mr. Morris Lessmore
  • The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo
  • The Help
  • The Iron Lady (2)
  • The Muppets
  • The Shore
  • Undefeated
Leave a Reply

